Gruau – A tribute


Bukurama Bookbinding+

 

Remember French illustrator Rene Gruau (1909-2004) and his illustrations for Christian Dior?

I remember seeing them in advertisements as a child but never knew who the artist was. Now I do.

Bold composition. Intense colours. The epitome of chic. That’s Gruau to me.

I learned there was an exhibition of his work at London’s Somerset House in December 2010 called “Dior Illustrated”. That’s a world away from where I am here in Singapore.

I googled and tiled together some of Gruau’s images and printed them out to make a book. My tribute to Gruau.

 

 

Merci Monsieur Gruau!

 

View original post

Leave a Reply

