A Sexy Topic


On the Borderline

On the Borderline (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Mat Brooke of Grand Archives playing at The Bo...

Mat Brooke of Grand Archives playing at The Borderline, London, February 5th 2010. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Oh, hahahaha, I am so mean for picking this title, but I just have to share this since I want to get up and do a little dance for karmic victory.

I was contacted today by someone at my University’s Office That Handles Sexual Harrassment.

Ooooooeeeeeeee. Somehow I think there is no possible way for this story to have a boring ending.

There could be an ironic twist of fate: I may find out that this has nothing to do with the ethically questionable behavior I actually witnessed, and might involve other people altogether. Well now that I think about it, maybe I know about other ethically questionable things that this Office would handle…

But I sure hope this is about the totally illegal, extremely uncool stuff I actually witnessed. It’s about time somebody did something about it.

Why didn’t I report it myself, you might ask?

Well here is a lesson for the younger folks out there:

what goes around (and by that I mean rumors), comes around.

Drop a hint here and there, and eventually the shit will work its way up to the fan. Especially if it’s true and more than one person hints at it. And it’s less likely that everyone will know you’re the one who pointed the finger. Saves you from some of that ‘blame-the-messenger’ phenomenon we all love so much.

More to the point, reporting someone usually requires that the harrassment actually happened directly to you. While I witnessed some blatantly bad stuff, what I experienced myself was the sort of thing no one could corroborate. Plus it was borderline ignorable. In other words, no single event was that upsetting. But taken together, there was definitely an unprofessional pattern of behavior.

I try not to think about it that much. I’ve tried to play it very safe and avoid any situations or clothing that might escalate any borderline situations.

Okay, yeah, I felt harrassed. But does anybody really believe that verbal harrassment matters?

I felt like it was not my place to report the physical stuff I knew about mostly indirectly, since it was also borderline consensual, whatever that means. Hard to save people from themselves….

I guess I’m just hoping this person finally reported it herself. But maybe that means something truly horrible happened? It would be really sad if it took something really catastrophic to get her to stand up for herself. Unfortunately I seriously doubt the Office is allowed to tell me who reported it, and exactly what they reported.

Here’s hoping we get to do an even better dance soon. You know, the one that goes: Fry, sucker, fry!! 

I’ve been banking on the Karmic Payback Plan. Here’s hoping it pays off. I’m probably a bad person for wanting to see this guy get what’s coming to him, but it does give me a little bit of glee. Heh heh heh.

One response to this post.

Leave a Reply

