Quotes


Anyone determined to find another person or group inferior can always find whole lists of grounds that demonstrate inferiority because we are all inferior to the ideals of humanness we have erected.
Marilyn French

Beyond that, I seem to be compelled to write science fiction, rather than fantasy or mysteries or some other genre more likely to climb onto bestseller lists even though I enjoy reading a wide variety of literature, both fiction and nonfiction.
Joan D. Vinge

First, I’d become an avid reader of blogs, especially music blogs, and they seemed to be where the critical-thinking action was at, to have the kind of energy that I associate with rock writing of the 1970s or Internet e-mail discussion lists a decade ago.
Carl Wilson

Hungry Joe collected lists of fatal diseases and arranged them in alphabetical order so that he could put his finger without delay on any one he wanted to worry about.
Joseph Heller

I am a goal setter and I set more goals everyday. I keep lists of goals in my office to stay on track.
Kiana Tom

I don’t let my picture be taken. I’m on too many hit lists.
Jack Chick

I don’t like the sound of all the lists he’s making.
Ben Stein

I keep lists of names of people that I have met, a list of things to do day by day as well as a log of how my time is consumed throughout the day. It’s a very important part of my personal discipline.
Bob Graham

I was lucky enough not to face any required summer reading lists until I went to college. So I still think of summer as the best time to read for fun.
Margaret Haddix

I worked hard at memorizing lists of facts and figures, and carried with me a book of facts.
Charles Van Doren

I’m definitely a messy person… I know where everything is but I just can’t organize. I don’t make lists and find scripts on the laundry machine, and under my bed, or in the bathroom, kitchen. It’s bad, I really need to take control.
Katie Holmes

I’m more of a tomboy than anything and then you see your name on these Top 50 Most Beautiful People lists and you’re like, “What?”
Lisa Marie Presley

I’ve learned to look like I’m listening to long confusing plots of cartoons and comic books when I’m actually sound asleep or making grocery shopping lists in my head.
Patricia Heaton

Internet mailing lists are like Fox television shows. They have really cool previews, and they get you all excited about them, but they just don’t live up to their promises.
John Dobbin

Lists are anti-democratic, discriminatory, elitist, and sometimes the print is too small.
David Ives

Lists of books we reread and books we can’t finish tell more about us than about the relative worth of the books themselves.
Russell Banks

Most directors have little lists in their heads of people they really want to work with.
Alan Parker

So the books have a greater appeal to a British audience, but that hasn’t stopped them making best-seller lists in places like Brazil, Japan and at least a dozen other countries.
Bernard Cornwell

Strong efforts have been made in Ohio to curb the authoritarianism of our Secretary of State, Kenneth Blackwell, as he has purged people from lists in our State in particular precincts where voters are heavily minority.
Marcy Kaptur

The cloning of humans is on most of the lists of things to worry about from Science, along with behaviour control, genetic engineering, transplanted heads, computer poetry and the unrestrained growth of plastic flowers.
Lewis Thomas

Leave a Reply

